NOSSCR Conference in DC

May 19, 2013

I love coming to the national conferences in DC put on by the National Organization of Social Security Claimants’ Representatives (NOSSCR).  Spending time in our capital city is always a treat.  I enjoyed speaking to new practitioners with two other attorneys from Jacksonville–we spoke to a packed house and presented our session:  “Hearing Tips for Beginners”.  I sat in on a number of great sessions including Chuck Martin (former NOSSCR President) and Debbie Shifrin (current NOSSCR President) speaking on the use of iPad during hearings. I think I see an iPad in my future.  Gil Laden of Mobile, Alabama presented a great session on the credibility of claimants, reminding us all that a credible claimant is at the heart of every strong Social Security Disability claim.

As always, I got to catch up with old friends and make new friends.  Everyone is concerned about the current climate in DC, knowing that changes in the Social Security program are inevitable, and hoping that the disabled population is not substantially affected in a negative way.  The disabled community is often made of up people who find applying for  and following through with a Social Security Disability claim to be challenging at best.  The attorneys within NOSSCR are among the finest in the country–I don’t know how anyone can be an effective representative without colleagues like the ones I know through NOSSCR.  I’m grateful for them and humbled to be among them.

 

 

Leave a Reply

