My SSA Week

August 27, 2014

In honor of the 79th Anniversary of the Social Security Act, Carolyn W. Colvin, Acting Commissioner of Social Security, invites everyone to celebrate the first National my Social Security Week. From August 17 through 23, 2014, Social Security will host numerous events to highlight the many benefits of a my Social Security account, a personalized online account people can establish at http://www.socialsecurity.gov/myaccount beginning in their working years and continuing throughout the time they receive Social Security benefits.

“I am excited about the first National my Social Security Week. A my Social Security account is a convenient, cost-effective and secure way for the public to do business with us from the comfort of their home, office or library,” Acting Commissioner Colvin said.

After setting up and accessing the Social Security Statement, individuals can verify the accuracy of their earnings each year. This is important since earnings are the basis for determining future retirement benefits. Individuals who currently receive benefits can sign up for a my Social Security account to get an instant benefit verification letter, change their address and phone number, and start or change direct deposit of their benefit payment.

To date, over 13 million people have established an account.  I am one of them.  I check my account yearly to confirm my earnings have been reported correct.  So far, my account has only been wrong once, but SSA corrected it promptly.

For more information, please go to http://www.socialsecurity.gov/myaccount.

Leave a Reply

