Taking Advice from SSA

July 20, 2016

I’m kind of old school in that I still read the newspaper daily.  Imagine my surprise when I picked up the paper recently and there was a section called “Social Security Q&A” from the Tribune News Service.

Q:  “I was turned down by disability.  Do I need a lawyer to appeal?”

A:  You’re fully entitled to hire a lawyer if you wish to, but it is not necessary.

The response goes on to talk about how filing the appeal is easy, online and secure.  This is all accurate, but the fact is that if a person has already lost their initial application, an attorney can provide significant benefit and in many cases, increase the chances of benefits eventually being awarded.

Leave a Reply

