Happy 2017

January 4, 2017

As I start each year, I try to think about improving my practice.  This year, I am thinking forward to improving my skills and working more closely with clients.

As my clients know, I am always happy to talk to them if they have any questions about their claim during its pendency or after a decision has been rendered.  Nothing infuriates me more than when individuals call me and tell me that their attorney will not call them back.  My clients know that they can always set a telephone or an in person conference to meet with me regarding any concerns or questions they have.   I need to stress that in my initial meetings with my clients so they feel free to contact me about any question they have.  I may not always know the answer offhand, but I am always willing to listen and research any concern that arises.

In terms of improving my skills, I am hoping to attend several national and state wide conferences this year.  Taking off from “real” work seems impossible some times, but I know that time out of the office talking with other attorneys and learning from them ultimately provides me with new ideas about how to better present and win cases.  In that way, taking the time away from the office is just as important as working on the pending disability matters.

I am also hoping to work a little more closely with local colleagues who often provide invaluable advice.  In this way, we can take advantage of each others’ experiences at monthly lunches or even via informal text exchanges without the time demands a national or state conference takes.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

