The Inauguration

January 25, 2017

I was fortunate enough to be invited by a friend to Donald Trump’s inauguration last week. Some folks wondered why I would attend, given my leftist leanings and thirst for social equality.  However, I was extremely excited to be invited to such a significant event in our country’s history.  My son may have put it best, “Mom may not be a fan of Donald Trump, but she is fan of the democratic process”.

I travelled to Washington DC on Thursday to pick up tickets.  The lines were incredibly long along Capitol Hill, with Americans from every state in the nation standing to get into the various Congressional offices in order to pick up their tickets.  My friend and I were able to visit briefly with a friend’s Congressional Representative (a Republican) who noted that his office had extra tickets because some of the Democratic Representatives in his state couldn’t give theirs away.  This statement made me a little uneasy, because I truly believed the inauguration was an American event, not a political event.  We accepted our tickets graciously and made our way out of the building where lines were increasing.

The next morning, early, we boarded a train to DC and made our way through the crowds to a place where we had a good view from the lawn of the Capitol.  I was encouraged to see children among the many attendees.  It was obvious that most of the people were strong supporters of Donald Trump, although I did run into at least one Democrat who shared my sensibility that the occasion was more American than Republican.  It was nice to know I wasn’t alone.  A couple with several children were near me, and, while the father did not seem impressed or interested in having his kids see the prior presidents who attended (Jimmy Carter, George W Bush and Bill Clinton) along with then-President Obama, the children’s mother was adamant that they appreciate the fact that they would be in the presence, at one point, of four prior presidents as well as Donald Trump.  Ah….another one of my people!  I personally loved knowing that all of the U.S. Supreme Court Justices were there along with almost every significant American political figure.

While I was disappointed by the boos that rang through the crowd for a few of the Democratic speakers, I found the ceremony to be moving and greatly appreciated Roy Blount’s opening speech that provided the historic background of the peaceful transfer of power through the generations.

I sincerely hope that President Trump does a good job of leading our country.

Leave a Reply

